Loading Events

« All Events

Don’t Bomb the Bighorn

February 20 @ 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm

A representative from the Friends of Nevada Wilderness will speak about bighorn sheep conservation on the Desert Wildlife Refuge

Details

Date:
February 20
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:15 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas – Special Events Room
309 S. Valley View Blvd. in Springs Preserve
Las Vegas, NV 89107 United States

Upcoming Events

:15

Event Date Title Content Event Category
Wed. 2/5/2020 4:30-7:30 PM Teacher Meetup Training for public school teachers on museum assets for education. Seeking volunteers & donations of bottled water and snacks. Museum event
Sat. 2/15/2020 2-4 PM Obsidian & Neon:Black Art In honor of Black History Month, 2nd in 5 discussions, on “Black Art: Mission or expression” Museum event
Thurs. 2/20/2020 6-7:15 PM Don't Bomb the Bighorn A representative from the Friends of NV Wilderness will speak about the bighorn conservation on the Desert Wildlife Refuge Friends meeting
Sat. 2/22/2020 5:30-11 PM Friends Benefit Night at Romano's Macaroni Grill, 2001 N. Rainbow Blvd. LV 89108 Friends get 20-percent of tab when you tell your server you're there for Friends of NV State Museum LV. Put event flier – available on Friends Facebook – onto your phone Friends fundraiser
Sat. 2/29/2020 2-4 PM Obsidian & Neon: Black Economic Presence In honor of Black History Month, 3rd in 5 discussions, on “Black Economic Presence & Mobility in Sin City.” Museum event
Sat. 3/7/2020 2-4 PM Obsidian & Neon: Black Women Speak In honor of Black History Month, 4th in 5 discussions, on “Black Women Speak.” Museum event
Thurs. 3/19/2020 6-7:15 PM Scientific Hunt for NV's State Flower Jeanne Howerton, local author, speaks about the discovery and naming of NV's state flower Friends meeting
Sat. 3/21/2020 2-4 PM Obsidian & Neon: LGBTQ Lives Matter In honor of Black History Month, last in 5 discussions, on “LGBTQ Lives Matter: Community Within Community.” Museum event
Thurs. 4/16/2020 6-7:15 PM North Las Vegas Kiel Ranch as dude ranch Jeff Alpert, local author, speaks about the history of Kiel Ranch Friends meeting
Sat. 4/18/2020, time TBA Red & White Wine-tasting Friends fundraiser
Sat. 5/2/2020 time TBA Science is Everywhere Off-campus event needs volunteers to staff Museum's demo booth Museum event
Thurs. 5/21/2020 6-7:15 PM Las Vegas Aviation (1940-present) Daniel Bubb, UNLV history professor and commercial pilot, speaks about LV aviation history from WWII forward Friends meeting
Sat. 5/30/2020, 1-3 PM Jubilee! Reunited Karan Feder, guest curator of costume & textiles leads panel discussion on history of the long-running, iconic “Jubilee!” production show. Event includes reception for “Jubilee!” alumni. Friends fundraiser
Thurs. 6/18/2020 6-7:15 PM Evolution of Barrick Museum at UNLV Alisha Kerlin, director of Barrick Museum, discusses the organization's history and goals Friends meeting
Thurs. 7/16/2020 6-7:15 PM Joe Louis legacy George Joseph speaks about his relative Joe Louis, an African-American heavyweight boxer who moved to Las Vegas Friends meeeting
Sun. 7/19/2020 12:30-3 PM Pinot's Palette A group art lesson with take-home art piece Friends fundraiser
Thurs. 8/20/2020 6-7:15 PM NV State Nursery Program Amy Johnson, NV Division Forestry discusses the NV State Nursery program Friends Meeting
September Sat. date and time TBA Fossils, Skeletons & Dinos – Oh My! Family event with crafts, scientific specimens, demonstrations Friends outreach
Thurs. 9/17/2020 6-7:15 PM American Quilting Deb Young, a quilting artist, and Marie Hetrick, a quilting instructor, speak about quilting history & trends Friends meeting
Thurs.10/15/2020 6-7:15 PM Local Bat Species Jessica Brooks, NV Division of Wildlife speaks about Southern Nevada bats Friends meeting
Sun. 11/15/2020 12:30-3 PM Pinot's Palette A group art lessons with take-home piece of art” Friends fundraiser
Thurs. 11/19/2020 6-7:15 PM McCaw School of Mines Garrett Wake of NV Division of Minerals speaks about simulated gold mine associated with McCaw STEAM Academy in Henderson Friends meeting
December date time TBA Barnes & Noble bookfair Bookstore gives Friends percentage of sales of customers who show Friends voucher Friends fundraiser
Thurs.12/17/2020 6-7 PM Dinner social in lieu of general meeting Holiday Potluck. Please bring a snack to share Friends meeting