Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

General Meeting

May 16 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Alisha Kerlin, interim executive director of the UNLV Marjorie Barrick Museum of Art, will speak.

Details

Date:
May 16
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Category:

Upcoming Events

Event Date Title Content Event Category
Sat. 5/18/19 2-4 PM Archaeology Talk Spencer Lodge will discuss “The Original Slow Cooker: Prehistoric Roasting Pit Use Within the Desert National Wildlife Refuge”. Museum Event
Sat. 5/25/19 2-4 PM Book Signing Photographer Fred Sigman's latest book, Motel Vegas, is featured with a panel discussion. Museum Event
Sat. 6/1/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program How did sleepy Carson City become the capital of Nevada? Learn that and more when we take a virtual trip to our capital city. Museum Event for children
Sat. 6/8/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program Aspiring astronomers will learn about planets and stars and take a peek at the sun through a special telescope. Museum Event for children
Sun. 6/9/19 1-3 PM Paint It Forward! Paint it Forward! Join us at Pinot's Palette for an afternoon of step-by-step group art lessons accompanied by wine. This class suits beginning painters and experienced artists alike. Bring a friend and paint together! Pinot's Palette provides all equipment and materials needed to paint a wonderful sunset titled “Spectacular Nightfall”. Plus, you get to take home your artwork to show your family and friends! The cost is $39/person. A portion of proceeds benefits the Friends of NSMLV. Pinots' Palette is located in the Boca Park shopping center, 1000 South Rampart, Las Vegas, NV 89145 (702-331-2007). You must book online before the event. Book now for yourself and your friends as we expect this event to sell out. Friends Event
Sat. 6/15/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program We'll use a giant map of Nevada to trace the route taken by Pony Express Riders. Museum Event for children
Thurs. 6/20/19 6:00 PM General Meeting Derek Weis of the Neon Museum will discuss “Neon in Vegas” Friends Event
Sat. 6/22/19 1-3 PM Secrets of Tea Louise Carruth, founder of LittleCandle Tea Company, gives a multimedia talk on the local history of herbal tea drinking. Tea leaves, their health benefits, and ideal ways to enjoy tea will be discussed. She will lead a tasting of different teas. Tickets are $8/person or $15/pair. Purchase online Friends Event
Thurs. 7/19/19 6:00 PM General meeting Jessica Samuelson of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service speaks about Pahranagat National Wildlife Refuge migratory bird species Friends Event
Sat. 6/22/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program Try out some old fashoned toys and make some of your own to take home! Museum Event for children
Sat. 6/29/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program Discover ways aviation has been a part of the Nevada story. Museum Event for children
Sat. 7/6/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program See works of art by local artists and try some artistic techniques yourself! Museum Event for children
Sat. 7/13/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program From Hoover Dam to Hyperloop, explore Nevada engineering feats. Museum Event for children
Sat. 7/20/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program Explore you inner superstar by making a headdress, practicing puppeteering skills, and learning magic tricks. Museum Event for children
Sat. 7/27/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program Come sit by the campfire and hear stories about Nevada. Get inspired to write your own story! Museum Event for children
Sat. 8/3/2019 1-5 PM Summer Family Program Escape the summer heat by imagining at time when Nevada was at the bottom of a sea ruled by ichthyosaurs. Museum Event for children
Thurs. 8/15/19 6:00 PM General Meeting Kish LaPierre, USAF archaeologist will discuss Nevada rock art Friends Event
Thurs. 9/19/19 6:00 PM General Meeting Fawn Douglas of UNLV's American Indian Research and Education Center will speak about Paiute history and culture Friends Event
Thurs. 10/17/19 6:00 PM General Meeting Rebecca Lynn Palmer, State Historic Preservation Officer, will speak about historic markers in Clark County Friends Event
Thurs. 11/21/19 6:00 PM General Meeting Amy Johnson, the Nevada Division of Forestry Nursery Manager in Las Vegas will speak. Friends Event
Thurs. 11/28/19 8:00 AM Thanksgiving Outside organization
Sat. 12/14/2019 all day Barnes and Noble Book Fair Join us on Saturday Dec. 14 at Barnes and Noble book store, 8915 W Charleston Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89117 for a book fair. On that day, the Friends of Nevada State Museum Las Vegas receive a percentage of all sales at the store and cafe. Friends Event
Thurs. 12/19/19 6:00 PM General Meeting Holiday Potluck. Please bring a dish to share. Friends Event